Proudly funded by the Crandon family in memory of  LTCOL Lionel Crandon CO 41

Nominations for the 2022 Association Scholarship now OPEN 
27 Jul 2021- Association Scholarship Contest

 On this Tuesday night the ASP (Association Scholarship Panel) convened at BHQ Lismore to judge the 3 finalist for the 2021 Association Scholarship.

The panel consisted of LTCOL Fernandez (CO 41), WO1 McCoy (RSM 41), Rod Haydon (Chairman of the event) , Graeme Davis and Jim Sneesby

The 3 finalist were Pte Juleff (Lismore) , CPL McKinnon (Port) and LT Hudson (Port).

The finalist presented a 20 minute presentation on a military leader who inspired them and why and why should they be granted the scholarship.

The ASP use a scoring criteria covering all aspects of the presentation and it is scored, it was a very close competition with minimal points between 1st and 3rd.

The winner was PTE Julef , runner up CPL McKinnon and very close third LT Hudson.

The quality and vigour of the presentations was outstanding and all finalists are commended for their excellent presentations.

The winner receives $1,000 award with the members of the association approving 08 Aug 21 to approve $500 for 2nd place and              $250 for 3rd.

Congratulations go all finalists for your outstanding efforts to make this year's scholarship a great success.


From Left CO 41RNSWR LTCOL Fernandez, PTE Juleff Scholarship Winner, Rod Haydon (Association)

From Left CPL McKinnon, OC C Coy MAJ Clifton and LT Hudson 


Scholarship suspended till 2021 due to Covid 19

20 Aug 19

The 2019 41st Infantry Battalion Association Scholarship was contested on 20 Aug 19.

The panel consisted of the CO LTCOL McPhee , RSM WO1 King, MAJ Walsh (Chairman) , Graeme Davis (assoc rep) and Cec Harris (Lismore RSL sub branch President) being the independent member of the panel.

LCPL Sarah Sobels was awarded the scholarship after a very good presentation to the panel.

Thanks to Richard Crandon who generously provides the funding for the Association Scholarship .

The Association scholarship continues to help and assist the soldiers of 41st Battalion in a valuable way , with applications already lodged for next years scholarship , expect a lot of demand for this event in 2021 from the soldiers of the unit.


Tuesday 7th Aug 18
Private Jessie Willsher (C Company Port Macquarie) wins Association Scholarship and the $1,000 prize ….

A close second place Pte Tim Ellis from BHQ Lismore.

 Jessie one of the units Infantry soldiers from Port Macquarie depot presented a compelling speech to take out the 2018 scholarship.

Well done to both finalist and just another way the association supports the soldiers of the 41st Battalion.



In 2017 the first Leadership scholarship was contested , the prize $1,000 in cash for a member of the unit who was studying at university or Tafe.

Three finalists contested the scholarship, this required a 10 min presentation on a leadership topic presented to a selection panel .

The 3 finalists were Tom Melville (A Coy), Matt Moffatt (C Coy) , Tim Ellis (Manoeuvre Spt Platoon)

After some debate the winner was determined as Matt Moffatt from Coffs Harbour , Matt is shown accepting a cheque from the association for $1,000 at our Feb 18 meeting.

Matt presented a 30 min presentation at our meeting on his deployment experiences (as a sniper) and a interesting recount of the live and times of our units VC winner LCPL Bernard Sydney Gordon (from WW1).

Well done all finalists for contesting the award and showing a very high standard of professionalism .


History of the Scholarship

The Scholarship is the "brain child" of Andrew McPhee (CO 41st Battalion) who come up with the idea of a scholarship  in 2017 to  financially assist a member of the unit who was undertaking studies to improve themselveson a annual basis and thought that the Association would be the ideal vehicle to deliver this affect.

The Association fully endorsed the idea and approached Mr Richard Crandon who's late father Lionel Crandon was the CO of the 41st Battalion three times who  generously offered to fund the scholarship.  

Nominations are called each year from soldiers of the unit who if selected present a topic to the Scholarship panel who then determine the winner.


Copyright 41bnassoc